TEA2025 alternatives

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have a little 'learning' project on the go and need some help finding possible upgrades for the TEA2025 chip.

l_4c7cc5c494949a76664f2665f31c79c7.jpg

Details:

I will be using a amp module which ive salvaged from a pair of old PC speakers. This will be rehoused in a good chassis and powered from a better supply. (15VA Tx and 4700 Pana fc smotthing cap) I'll also be playing with caps to try and improve the sound. Details here:

Ive been searching for compatible chips as a possible upgrade but im a novice so Im having trouble finding one.

Can anyone help?

Cheers, I thought as much.

Ive ordered a chassis and 15VA 9v Toroid, and some caps to play with: Tant beads, Nichion Muse, Rubycon ZA's, and a pair of 1uf MKP's to try on the chip input. Hopefully Theres no DC on the output then I can remove the decoupling caps. I'll be bypassing the tone control and removing the swith on the left which is '3D Surround' so the signal path is a bit clearer.

Im hoping that the Adding the Tx and a 4700uf Pana FC will improve things considerably as the amp is currently driving 88db 8ohm speakers so the added headroom should be good.

Ive read the datasheet and found out that the chip's output power is dependant on the supply voltage. Obvoiusly with peak current demand from heavy bass etc the voltage will drop so Im considering adding a reg to the supply but Im not sure how to do this, or if it will solve the problem. Isnt the purpose of a reg to maintain a constant voltage? Any ideas for a beginner?

Just been looking at regs and It seems easy to do. Ill be looking at fitting one of the Generic 7805 types for simplicity as this is my first amp project. Of the chip style regs which is the best in terms of low noise?