Fastening the lid onto Hammond 1444 series enclosures

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all,
I am currently putting together my first chip amp according to Peter Daniel's excellent kit and instructions. I'm using a Hammond 1444 series enclosure, made of sheet aluminum, as pictured here:
http://www.hammondmfg.com/dwg21.htm
The bottom plate has cutouts for screws as you can see. But after putting most of the necessary holes in the enclosure for the amp, I realized I had no idea how I would fasten it on when I'm done.

I can't simply use bolts because there is no way to hold both sides to tighten them when the lid is on. The other options include tapping, which I've never done before, or using self-drilling self-tapping screws, as an engineer friend advised. Assuming there isn't a better option than those, and given the thickness of 0.04 inches of the enclosure material, what would you recommend as the maximum thread spacing?

I've seen pictures on this forum of others who have used these enclosures with apparent success, but wasn't able to deduce from any of them how they got past this issue. Thanks for any advice you can offer.

Hi, in a case like yours, I've used a number of methods, be it for my personal electronics projects or really tough car audio installation projects:

(These all use items/parts that are very common)
1. If you have a decent cordless drill, how about #6 or #8 self-tapping screws. You can buy small inexpensive packs at Lowe's & Home Depot.

2. You could predrill the holes for machine screws and try that directly or also add the included nuts to the other side by using a suitable substance that will solidly hold them in place, such as:
-J B Weld
-Other strong off-the-shelf strong hardening putty

I've done that myself.

...I won't recommend epoxies for your metal enclosure, although I've used it for holding the nuts in other plastic projects.