Jeff Rowlands MC6 problems

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi all
This chip amp has an unusual problem. when in standby all the outputs have zero offset (correct and good). As soon as the standby button is pressed the circuit protectors trip open on ALL the power output supplies. The supplies are correct + and - 40v.
The input board is correctly receiving + and -12v from the regulators. All the boards are running in individual (not bridged) mode.
There are no speakers connected at this time. There is a little puff of smoke from the regulator bords on the smoothing caps.
To summarise: when the unit is taken out of standby it blows up!!
Any help will be much appreciated.:confused:
Remember I've been fixing amps for 35 years and this is the first time I am flumoxed !!!

Only the circuit breakers pop open with that little puff from the regulator boards. There are no blown chips (it uses 6 x TDA7294 bridged in 4 channels and 12x TDA7294 bridged in each of the other two channels)
The unit has the capability of having any or all of the output channels in parallel (not quite bridge operation)
If the circuit breakers are reset the protection indicator LEDs all go out (correct). It is when it is brought out of standby and the mute lines to the TDA7294's are released that the breakers trip.
All the 48 output ic's are intact and check out OK.
Hmmmmm.

Attachments

• jr mc6.jpg
    jr mc6.jpg
    19.1 KB · Views: 371
highviewvideo said:

All the 48 output ic's are intact and check out OK.
Hmmmmm.

This is the part i don't understand. Why are you certain the chips are ok? Can you really judge by their behaviour on stand-by? No idea what getting out of stand-by means, but likely it applies full bias to the output stage and if one of the chips is shaky you get some fault output condition briefly (dc?) and the protection cuts back to stand-by. Just a thought.