Grounding hum on lm3886 kit

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm fairly new to the world of amplifier building, so I started with a kit from chipamp.com - the lm3886 stereo kit with the snubberized power supply.

I constructed it as per the instructions, with a 300VA 25V twin secondary toroidal transformer. A picture of my construction can be found here, although the wiring is only temporary at this stage. Since the photo was taken I have also connected the second amplifier module. I chose to omit the feedback capacitor when building the amplifier modules.

In normal operation, there is a slight background hum. If I touch the input leads connected to IN and SG on the amplifier module, the slight hum increases dramatically.

Any suggestions for areas to investigate this grounding issue?

Thanks!

Safety

I absolutely disagree with the mains wiring layout shown in your pic.
The two single insulated mains wires pass over the low voltage circuitry.
A disaster waiting to happen.

Take all your transformer wires to terminals in a fixed terminal block and then run your mains input completely separate from the LV/isolated side so that you or your equipment cannot accidentally touch the mains side.
Double insulate your mains wires. Not just the Safety Earth.

Re: Safety

AndrewT said:
I absolutely disagree with the mains wiring layout shown in your pic.
The two single insulated mains wires pass over the low voltage circuitry.
A disaster waiting to happen.

Take all your transformer wires to terminals in a fixed terminal block and then run your mains input completely separate from the LV/isolated side so that you or your equipment cannot accidentally touch the mains side.
Double insulate your mains wires. Not just the Safety Earth.