Dual-mono chipamp (3886) problem - possible grounding issue

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I've just been converting my stereo gainclone to a dual mono gainclone while building it into a new case and when turned on the transformer 'growls' (the best way I can describe it). I have to say i'm no expert on transformer noises so it could just be a (very) loud hum, although it does sound quite deep hence the growl.

The reason I suspect it is the grounding is because both channels work perfectly fine if the other is disconnected. I just want to make sure this is it before I do some kind of other damage or change things that are perfectly ok!

A few bits of info that may help;
-It's the chipamp.com 3886 kits
-240V primary, dual 22V secondaries. I think it is around 200VA
-All in a single case with single ground for chassis and two amplifier boards
-Mains passes through fuse (hot only) and dpst switch

Thanks in advance

he didn't say the output was humming, he said the *transformer* was humming. And only with both channels connected. A toroid is only going to 'growl' if it's under serious stress like a current draw way in excess of its rating... does it 'growl' even when idle so long as both channels are hooked up?

So... dual mono, two rectifier boards, one tranny... got any pics? Sounds like the rectifier boards are not wired exactly the same way or something is grounded that *shouldn't* be...

Monty

Yes, it growls when idle too. Could adding another rectifier increase the load on the tranny enough to make it do that? It was a transformer recommended for the kit so i'm inclined to say that unless faulty the transformer is fit for purpose.