How hard can it be? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 8th November 2007, 02:29 AM   #1
seth556 is offline seth556  United States
diyAudio Member

Default How hard can it be?

Hi all,

I'm pretty much a noob when it comes to audio but I'm learning. I'm looking at building an amp that I can use to crank out the music from my computer, nothing crazy powerful but I still like it to get loud at times. And I'm not looking to spend lots of money as I'm a student.

So I'm looking at building a LM3886 amp from chipamp.com. The thing is I'm not looking to spend $40 more than just the pcb for the components to go on it when I can get most at the surplus store down the road for a lot cheaper. So I'm asking if I got a cheap 25w soldering iron (I know how to solder, but I never have on PCB boards) along with this kit, how much trouble is it to learn how to solder these things up? Also is it a good idea to go and try and buy the components for the board separate or should I stick with the kit that includes everything?

My final question is how much power do these amps put out? I'm thinking I'll use these old bookshelf speakers I have till I can make something decent.
Old 8th November 2007, 02:51 AM   #2
Account disabled at member's request

Hi,
Really, if you're looking for cheap, you're in the wrong place. You could buy a fully functional used receiver, that would meet your needs for a lot less than it will cost to source and build you own. Don't even think about how much time it will take.

The pcb is just the tip of the iceberg. You need a transformer, heatsink and case just to name a few items, each one of these will cost more than the ready to use receiver mentioned above.