Hello, can i have some help please? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 23rd September 2007, 11:25 PM   #1
JakeDN is offline JakeDN  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Default Hello, can i have some help please?

Hey, this is my first post as i have been trying to resist temptation to rely on others to solve my newbie problems for me!

I have been building speakers for a while, and decided i wanted to start building amps and possibly doing something silly like having a fully active system. I am a student, so for now im just doing and learning and making some mistakes!

Anyway, to the problem at hand.

I bought the LM3875 kit from audiosector and finished building it a couple of days ago. It works! But something is wrong. It does hum, but not too bad and i totally accepted it due to the proximity of all the parts. The problem im having is the popping. When i turn the amp off the cones pop really badly (LF cones) even with the pre amp off. I checked the circuit as i went along, and all checked out fine. However, on the speaker out terminals, im getting -2v reading off my avo. Of course, that shouldn't be there!

I have no experience with chip amps so i am totally lost. Please help!

Cheers.
Old 25th September 2007, 03:54 AM   #2
jerishi is offline jerishi  United States
diyAudio Member

Default chip amp

Hi, there are a few different reasons for 'pops'... in firing up (any) amp. I'm no expert, but if you've got sound... you're more than half way done with your project. Many resources here- I find self constantly looking for more information....
Old 25th September 2007, 07:13 AM   #3
gootee is offline gootee  United States
diyAudio Member