newbie seeking info about homemade ipod amplifier

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi!

I'm new to the world of audio amplifiers, and I discovered it while developing a project.

I'm developing an homemade iPod audio station. I already created schematics for IR remote controller, PC interface, and some minor features.
Now I need to build an amplifier. This led me to a plenity of questions.

* Which type of amplifier should I choose? (output power, technology)
* What is the relationship between power and weight/dimensions/dissipated heat of the power supplier?
* What about volume control?
* What about those really nice vu-meters on professional devices?
* How should I choose speakers?

I really don't know anything about audio processing, so I'll give you an idea of the result I'd like to obtain, hoping that someone here can give me some suggestions.

* My device should be "portable". That means that its dimensions shuld be of about 30x30x8 cm, and it shouldn't be too heavy.
* Its power should be enough to be heard inside a room.

I already found volume control unit (MAX5406 seems good!) and a suitable vu-meter (LM3915N from Philips).

Now I'd like to have some suggestions about the amplifier. Can anyone please help me with a link to some schematics?

Thank you very much!
Roberto

I'll have a look at it. But, can you please tell me why?

It's due to dissipated heat? or dimension/weight of the power supplier?

I saw some schematiscs that use chip amplifiers (such as TFA9843AJ) that seemed quite small and had a good power output. This is the reason why I posted here.
Still, I can't evaluate them as I have no experience with amplifiers.

Joined 2003
Paid Member
disti said:
It's due to dissipated heat? or dimension/weight of the power supplier?

Both; ClassD is highly efficient and can be build the size of a credit card (without supply).