Noob building first amp: please check my connections

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi,

First of all, I am a complete noob when it comes to electronics. I know how to solder and connect few things but that's about it.

I have build my first chip amp based on Brian's Rev C LM3875 kit. It is stereo version that is powered by CT trafo. It has one power supply board and two channel boards.

Could somebody here check the connections I have drawn on the image (attachment) and let me know if I did it correctly? My trafo is CT 21V-0-21V, I have a fuse, 10K volume pot and power switch. Connections for the CT are according to this post:
http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/showthread.php?postid=887047#post887047

I also have one additional question. My volume pot just has 6 connections (2 rows of 3 connections). I know that it is one row per channel, but how do I know which one is IN, OUT and GND? The pot has the following information on it:
AB 719110-60
10K-OHM+-10%
TYPE J
MEXICO

Thank you.

p.s. Please go easy on me if there is something really bad in the attachment, because like I stated before, I do not have a lot of knowledge about electronics. That is why I picked a kit and did not attempt to build an amp from scratch.

Attachments

• lm3875 connections.jpg
    lm3875 connections.jpg
    92.1 KB · Views: 651
Nordic: Thanks for your suggestion, but there is no space in the enclosure to move the pot and run it across to the front. Attached picture does not show the actual size/spacing. I will post picture of the amp once it is finished.

What about the connections? Anyone?

Hi,
I am working through your diagram so this may not be my last.

The safety earth from input socket to chassis MUST BE PERMANENT.
Do not share a single bolted fixing with the audio ground.