What amp to choose

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Ok, here I am, slowly going nuts... I have a room in which I want to put a new amp. I have got a low budget and would like some really nice hifi quality sound in that room. I want to run my Arcam cd player and a set of TQWT broadbanders I am trying to get finished. They house high efficiency Isophone drivers, so I don't need a lot of wattage.

After considering cheap Chinese tube amps of Ebay or second hand amps from Rotel or NAD, I came to the conclusion that that might not be the way to go. A long time ago I read all the Gaincard/clone postings and got all excited about it. And then it died. Time has passed and I am back. So, what to do.

I am a beginner in building equipment. I do know how to solder, so that's alright. ;) However, I have not kept up much. Is the Gainclone still the best option? And then, which one to build? Suggestions? I have been recommended the one on the Decibel Dungeon site, and that looks good. However, is there anywhere I can find step by step build guides as well?

Thanks a lot for any answers!

Arne, have a little confidence! ;)

I have had many complete novices contact me via Decibel Dungeon to say that they have built a GC and it has worked OK.

The trick is to do plenty of reading first. Go over each part of the circuit and try to visualise it and what it entails to put together.

Personally, I find hard-wiring a GC easier than putting a kit together but each to his (or her) own as they say. :)

Thanks so far for the suggestions.