LM1875 design, help a newbie out

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello,
I am quite a newbie to higher powered amps. I have built a small ~6 watt amp and a couple of headphone amps, but this will be my highest powered amp and first one with a custom board. I did my best to make a star ground and make separate paths for the feedback, input, and load grounds. The board is for a LM1875 running in single supply mode. I will use a power supply from a busted printer for this design. It is 30V @ 1 amp. Is this a suitable sized power supply to power two LM1875's? A picture of my board design is attached. Does the design look good enough?

Thanks,
Robert S.

Attachments

• board_1.jpg
    board_1.jpg
    54 KB · Views: 659
Hi Robert,

I am by no means an expert, but I have two suggestions:
- The LM1875 should be right at the edge of the board, so it can be easily attached to a heatsink.
- The feedback resistor (R6 on your PCB) should be very close to the pins of the LM1875, to form the shortest possible feedback loop.

Good luck,
Anton

I will use a power supply from a busted printer for this design. It is 30V @ 1 amp. Is this a suitable sized power supply to power two LM1875's? A picture of my board design is attached. Does the design look good enough?

Hello.. No way I'd use just 1A current suply. Not even for one chip. Further more, I'd go for dual suply mode. This way I avoid the output cap.

I''ve used this chip and it's very good indeed; very musical, better than the TDA7294 for example.

edit: the powe traces are to thin and I subscribe to the above coments.

Best luck!

LM1875 is good choice. I used that chip for a PC active speaker system 10 years ago. Theyre still working in my friends room.
Anyway, I think;
- The PCB may be smaller size. This will reduce the noise.
- Negative feedback line must be shorter. Long NFB line is the main cause of possible oscillations.