Need Help With Small Stereo 4W 9V amp.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am building some small, portable speakers. I have found some great speakers (8 ohm, 2-4W), but am having a lot of trouble finding a good amp for these speakers. I am planning on powering it with a 9V battery. I am going to be putting the amp and spaekers in a compact space, so I need a very small stereo ampl. I wish I could just design my own amp just for this purpose, but because I am very new with audio, that is not possible. If anyone knows of any amps, kits, schematics, or sites where I could learn to build my own amp, PLEASE inform me.

well if you can etch your own board at home i will design one for you. (it very easy to etch)
or you can use perf board.
the tda2007 is a 6+6W amp that can run off 8v-something like 28 i think.
or check out the Dirty30 at the bottom of the DIY Projects link on Audiosquare.com (link below). it wont run off 9vdc i dont think but its a very small board. if you want i can make you something like the same for the tda2007.

I have built some amps from canakit that are stereo, 1.5W per channel. They fit inside an altoids box with a 9V battery and have been driving some rebuilt drive-in speakers nicely. I also built some boom (more a description of the style than sound) boxes with some small but accurate speakers I got from American Science and Surplus, self contained (plastic 1.5x4x3 with the front being the narrowest dimension, allowing a sort of bass port on the bottom) takeouts from old computer systems where the speakers hung on the sides of the monitor (I think) $2.00 a pair. They fit inside recipe boxes, with the amp and an MP3 player all inside. Without the recipe box, the two speakers and the altoids tin would be good for camping, very lightweight.