Active filter plus LM3886 - one board - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 25th June 2007, 01:56 AM   #1
Account disabled at member's request

Default Active filter plus LM3886 - one board

Hi,
I have been working for the past several months on a new three-way speaker system that will be powered by 6 LM3886 amps.
Originally I thought it would be best to put the active filters for each channel on a separate board, then do 6 amp boards.
Recently I changed my mind and decided to incorporate an input buffer, a high and a low pass filter, an output buffer with volume control and finally the amp circuit all on the same board.
The reasoning behind this is that It will be cheaper to have 6 small boards produced that are identical, and it makes things much neater.
Components can be left out of the portions of the board that will not be used. Only the high pass component need go in the high pass board, and so on.

I have adapted Rod Elliot's P09 24 dB/octave filter and used his implementation of the LM3886 (P19). I have come up with the following schematics, the first is the filter section.
Thoughts and comments either positive or negative are welcome. I want this to work right the first time.
Attached Images
File Type: gif filter sec.gif (37.3 KB, 5916 views)
Old 25th June 2007, 01:58 AM   #2

And the amp section:
Attached Images
File Type: gif amp sec.gif (57.7 KB, 5211 views)
Old 25th June 2007, 05:59 AM   #3
frugal-phile(tm)
diyAudio Moderator

Keep in mind that the LM3886 is itself an op-amp so you can wrap a 2nd order filter around it and eliminate an op-amp -- the fewer the better... with a little finessing you should be able to build a 3rd order filter around the power op amp....

dave
Old 25th June 2007, 04:45 PM   #4