Help!Building first amp...... - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 5th June 2007, 08:49 AM   #1
PaulBNZ is offline PaulBNZ  New Zealand
diyAudio Member

Default Help!Building first amp......

Hi everyone!
I am really interested in building an amp for an MP3 player or other source of input. This is purely because I would like to listen to my music on it and think perhaps building one would be more interesting than just going out to buy one.
As a bit of a background I have some experience in simple DIY electronics although the audio side of things are a bit of a mystery to me.
I was looking at something stereo, with a power output of not more than 20-25W.(something like this:http://sound.westhost.com/project72.htm)
I have a pair of LM1875 chips that I was thinking of using for the amp itself.
I just have a few questions at the moment based on the little bit of research I have done:
1)Do I need a pre-amp if I am using something like an MP3 Player or Walkman?
2)Should I worry about damaging the input device, as I hear they are designed to function with the impedance of the headphones?
3)I realise the schematic above is for ~25V but would I be able to use components that would function with the 25V supply but for the moment also function with 12V. This is because I already have a few 12V DC supplies for my model planes. I understand the power out will be a lot less however.
Thanks in advance for putting up with my beginner q's!
Cheers
Old 6th June 2007, 01:13 PM   #2
Nordic is offline Nordic  South Africa
diyAudio Member

You will severely restric headroom off a 12V supply...ultimately meaning more distortion. suggested supply voltage is 16 to 60 V