Sub Woofer Bass Guitar Amp Help - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Chip Amps

Chip Amps Amplifiers based on integrated circuits

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 5th May 2007, 05:41 PM   #1
x is offline x  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Sub Woofer Bass Guitar Amp Help

I am new to this design so I need some help. I am a luthier/music enjoyer and I need to kill 2 birds with one amp. I am going to make 3 gainclone amps and 3 speaker systems.2 for normal stereo and one for a subwoofer. The sub woofer system will also be a bass amp for testing the electronics in my bass guitars and effects pedals. Hence the need for clean sound. So first question should I design a active or passive filter for the "music enjoyment" sub woofer amp so as to get some good bottom end from my CD's? If so can you direct me to some circuits. How do I bridge left and right channels to get the input. I am a bit limited on electronic theory so I build guitars to make up for that.
Thanks,
Rob
Currently listening to:
El Danse de Moises by Roberto Rodriguez
Old 5th May 2007, 06:59 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Quote:
So first question should I design a active or passive filter for the "music enjoyment" sub woofer amp so as to get some good bottom end from my CD's?
Though this depends on lots of things (i.e. you will need to provide a lot more information), personally I would almost always say an active crossover is a better solution, especially when you are talking about a sub low-pass filter.