Old School Orion 2150 gx.I must repair this amp - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Car Audio

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Closed Thread

Old 13th December 2006, 12:52 AM   #1
spooney is offline spooney  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Old School Orion 2150 gx.I must repair this amp

I have an old shcool orion 2150 gx. awesome amp from what I hear. I know orion used to make some great stuff.I'd love to get this thing working again.When it was given to me originally I believe it would turn on but had no output.As far as I can remember I don't think it even will power on anymore.I am a total noob to this game.I have a basic understanding of electronics but I am totally lost when it comes to troubleshooting this type of stuff.I wanna get this amp rolling but I have no idea where to start.Can anyone possibly lend a helping hand?

Old 13th December 2006, 02:00 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Are there any visible signs of damage?

Old 13th December 2006, 02:12 AM   #3
diyAudio Member

none what so ever. it looks damn near brand new

Old 13th December 2006, 02:26 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

If it has a TL494 (or tl594) in the supply, you need to connect it to a power source (including remote) via a 5-10 amp fuse (nothing larger) and measure the voltage on 'each' pin of the TLx94 IC. Do not let your leads short between pins. Black lead on chassis ground. Meter on DC volts.

Look up the datasheet for the IC if you don't know how the pins are numbered.

If there is no TLx94 IC, you may need to post some good quality photos.

Old 13th December 2006, 02:34 AM   #5
diyAudio Member