Old majestic amp blows chassis fuse at turn on.where do I start looking for problems?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have an old 4 channel majestic amp (don't laugh I know it sucks) laying around the garage. A buddy gave it to me years ago because it did nothing but blow fuses and said If I fix it its mine.Well five years later I'm finally getting around to messing with it. All wiring to the amp was good so the blown fuses are being caused by something internal.I originally suspected the power supply section but everything seems in order.Where do I go from here?I'm a newb at this and even though the amp is cheap it would make a decent addition to my audio system.I don't have a lot of test equipment on hand....just my DMM. Will the DMM alone be enough to help me fix this thing?I suspect a bad transistor.what would cause a bad transistor or do they sometimes just die on their own?

Transistors rarely fail without a bit of help. The exceptions would be old equipment. After ~20 years, you'll see random failures.

If you can post a good quality image (no phone cam), it would be easier to help.

If you set your meter to ohms, you should not read anything less than 500 ohms between the center pin of any power transistor (those clamped to the sink) and either of its other legs. If, for example, you get 5 ohms from pin 2 to pin 3, that component (or a component connected in parallel) is defective. If you read something near 0 ohms when you connect the meter across the B+ and ground terminals (no power applied), the amp likely has either defective FETs or a shorted reverse-protection diode.

If the amp blows the fuse as soon as B+ and ground are connected (no remote voltage applied), the problem is typically in the power supply. If the fuse only blows after remote is applied, the problem is in the power supply secondary or in the audio section (generally blown output transistors).