New to car audio and could use some component/sub suggestions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm pretty well informed in the headphone/home audio world but car audio is new territory for me. I'm putting a new system into my 05 mustang and need some suggestions for speakers/sub. I've got a JL 500/1 amp as well as an Alpine MRV F545 (125 x 4) amp. Those are the only set things in my system as of now, I got good deals on both of them.

I'm looking to spend no more than about 750 on components for my front doors and a sub. From what I've read it seems 2 way is the way to go for my price range but what brand and model is something I'm wide open to suggestions. CDT was about all I knew for high end audio but have read some bad things about them and am leaning towards the SEAS Lotus line at the moment. But like I said I'm new to car audio and am not aware of many higher end manufacturers.

For those of you not familliar with the 05 mustang, there are 8 inch subs in the front doors and a 6 x 8 slot with 6 x 8's in the back for fill. So I was thinking a 2 way component system would repalce the 8 inch subs and the 6 x 8 slots with a sub in the trunk. So any suggestions for good rear fill speakers would be great, I'm thinkin 5 1/4 since I don't like the way the oval shaped 6 x 8's sound compared to circular woofers.

For my sub, I listen to mainly rock, and certainly don't want to overpower my main speakers. I will only be getting one sub, and am debating a 10 or 12 inch. I'm leaning towards 10 as every recording studio I've been in always has 10 inch subs to monitor rock since it reproduces guitar bass much better. That being said I don't really care 10 or 12 as long as it is good sound quality sub. So brand suggestions or models for any of the above spots would be much appreciated. Thanks everyone.