HLCD's - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Car Audio

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 1st July 2006, 09:10 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default HLCD's

case i am new to the fourm, i would like to hear what you guys think about HLCD's i have Image Dynamics CD-2comps with full body lens'es and i absoultly love them 100% if i didnt have 30bands of eq i would hate them and probbally be deaf. but thats just me.

Your oppinion good or bad , please
Old 1st July 2006, 09:11 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

any helpful hints in tuning would be a +
Old 2nd July 2006, 10:15 AM   #3
Puggie is offline Puggie  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

I like em, I have had ID CD1e and CD1pros, I'm now running Veritas AW75s and think they are great, I have a nice range of hornbodies and CDs being built up

as for eq, I use a couple of passive notch filters and no other EQ, sounds fine to me and the local EMMA (European iasca) judge.

My advice for tuning would be get yourself a parametric EQ and tune with that, even a cheap older alpine will give good results I find them more pleasing than 30band graphics.
Old 2nd July 2006, 10:38 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

i have tried using small eq's a long time ago.

i have noticed that if i increase the amp gain to the point of where on the rta the section that needs boost to get to 0db on meter than start turning down eq sliders from high to low so parts on rta that are above
0db on meter. Than i fine tune untill all 30bands on rta are within 1-3db flat. at high levls of pink noise. I think that strong eqing sounds better on horns.

once i have a flat responce i start moving the horn around where i plan on mounting it +/- a inch in or out or angled or whatever. to get good image. than re-eq with pinknoise and start to smooth out the responce on eq and than i usally think it starts to really impress.