Good News Nakamichi Lovers!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I have not sourced a Denon changer yet to try it. but i have been doing some web searching and found that not all the denon units will work. just the older ones. Apparently the protocol used in the Nak's and the older Sony, denon and Fujitsu Ten/Eclipse decks is not used anymore.

I will say CAUTION. before plugging in any old changer into your deck. make sure it is compatible first. I know this is a bit difficult to do. but. the kenwood decks. are NOT compatible. as i understand it the clarion decks are not compatible. etc. many decks use that 13 pin plug but that does NOT mean they are wired the same or use the same protocol. PLEASE do not smoke your deck!~

I will be glad to share what info i know. I am no expert at this by any means, just a persistent searcher. but i sure would like to find someone with some real knowledge of cd changer protocols that could help us out!

Zero, I know for Clarion if you doo enough heavy googling, there is a page (actually, is it kenwood? anyways,) that lists the history of their protocols by letter (Kenwood A, Kenwood B, Kenwood D, etc), what made their protocols different (mostly seemed to be updated to add text for the MP3 units), how the handshakes worked, and even some basic command and control.

If you can find information that goes back far enough (to the "A" protocols), you should have the nak protocol.

I have researched the Clarion and Kenwood protocols and they are not the same. I am not a digital expert however. and until someone Bit Bangs the protocol bus to figure out the exact code i think were stuck. and that's really what its going to take is someone to sit down with the deck and a logic analyzer and figure out the code.