My amp is draining my car battery!! - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Car Audio

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 6th February 2006, 07:23 AM   #1
StalfoS is offline StalfoS  Canada
diyAudio Member

Default My amp is draining my car battery!!

My favourite people at the Volkswagon dealership spent a good 4 hours (@ ~$80/hour!!) trying to figure out why my car battery was running down, and finally they discovered that it was my monsoon amplifier. They told me that it had to be replaced, and a new unit would run me $700.

Now, it seems that thier solution to everything is to order expensive new parts. Im wondering if there is anyway to diagnose this problem, and possibly fix it, without resorting to buying a completely new amp.

I know a little bit about electronics, and am handy with a soldering iron, but I am no electrical engineer. If some of the experts at this forum could give me some ideas, or staring points, that would be awesome. It definately is the amp, because the car battery does not drain when I disconnect the unit.

Cheers,
Nate
Old 6th February 2006, 07:34 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

It looks like the following repair center services those amplifiers:
http://www.carstereohelp.com/

If you can't get it properly repaired and it works otherwise, you may consider installing a relay on the power wire. Connect the relay so that it disconnects power when the ignition is switched off.
Old 6th February 2006, 08:32 AM   #3
Eva is offline Eva  Spain
diyAudio Member

Send a message via MSN to Eva
Car dealers *never* repair electronics, their "technicians" are just trained to keep replacing electronic modules by new ones until the problem is solved (sometimes, good modules are replaced too).