Looking for starting points on car amp (first real post here)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello everyone, this is one of my first posts on this site.
If I have posted in the wrong section, I apologize, and Mods please move this thread.
I've done a search. In similar beginner's posts, the replies have been "tell us what you want to build, and tell us how good you are at DIY stuff." So here goes!

At this point, I am very interested in building my own car amplifier. I have basic knowledge of electronics and an understanding of audio concepts.
I am looking to build 2 moderately powerful amplifiers for my front stage. My main reason for doing this is that I am looking for excellent sound quality. Brands I have been impressed with for amplifiers include Audison, McIntosh, and U-Dimension, and I'd like to have comparible sound if that is possible.

my questions:
Where should I get started? Can anyone recommend some good plans for DIY car audio amplifiers? Im looking for around 150watts RMS per amplifier.
I want my amplifier to be able to adjust input voltage (gain), and have a crossover built in if possible (active). I have seen some crossover designs on the ESP site, could i just combine it with an amp?

I am a complete noob to this, so any help is very very appreciated.

For reference, I have an extensive background in custom car audio, and have built my own enclosures and components. However, I have not tried building the actual amps. I am fairly competent with electronics, and have a good knowledge base for audio.

Thanks for reading this, hopefully you can help me out!

-KC, from Canada.

heretical...

Hi,