Class D car amp - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Car Audio

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 8th September 2004, 01:57 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Class D car amp

Hi,

I've been looking to make my own monoblock class D car subwoofer amp and came across the Hypex UcD 180 kit which seems to be ideal for what I am after. One problem: I'm new to the DIY side of things and am a bit lost as to what I should do for the power supply. If I understand right, the incoming is 12V DC and the Hypex UcD 180 runs off 50V DC so presumably all I need is to get asuitable transformer that will up the voltage from 12V DC to 50V DC and plug it into the Hypex UcD 180 and it's all systems go! Is this right or am I seriously deluded?

Any help is much appreciated..........thanks!!!
Old 8th September 2004, 02:42 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Hi,

I think you would certainly get the correct answer if your post is moved to the the so called Digital amplification forum.

Best regards,

Jaka Racman
Old 8th September 2004, 03:50 PM   #3
Konrad is offline Konrad  Norway
diyAudio Member

Default Re: Class D car amp

Quote:
Originally posted by audionutter
Hi,

I've been looking to make my own monoblock class D car subwoofer amp and came across the Hypex UcD 180 kit which seems to be ideal for what I am after. One problem: I'm new to the DIY side of things and am a bit lost as to what I should do for the power supply. If I understand right, the incoming is 12V DC and the Hypex UcD 180 runs off 50V DC so presumably all I need is to get asuitable transformer that will up the voltage from 12V DC to 50V DC and plug it into the Hypex UcD 180 and it's all systems go! Is this right or am I seriously deluded?

Any help is much appreciated..........thanks!!!