Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

fosgate 55.2 wont power up
fosgate 55.2 wont power up
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 10th February 2018, 06:00 PM   #1
Theophili is offline Theophili  United States
diyAudio Member

Default fosgate 55.2 wont power up

hi all recently joined and i am having a problem with an amp i have had for a while.
the device in suspect is a fosgate punch 55.2 circa 1998
pc-1882-a

the amp had been operating great and sudenly lost power, i had been running it in bridged 2ohm which i know its not rated too and more than likely the reason for failure. when voltage is applied to the remote terminal the led is verry dim the left channel is dead and the right is outputing 1.84v dc. i am new to amp repair and am a little stuck any help in what steps to take for testing would be greatly apericiated
Old 10th February 2018, 07:16 PM   #2
seankane is offline seankane  United States
diyAudio Member

Half of the power supply could have failed. With an ohm meter set to ohms and auto range what readings do you get on the power supply FET's from gate to source. Legs 1 and 3?
Pyramid 52 Amp Power Supply----Fluke 787 Processmeter----Tektronix 465 Scope----Velleman HPS40 Scope----Soldering Iron----Desoldering Iron----Hejet HJ 500-S Heatgun----DM4070 Digital LCR Meter----Propane Torch
Old 10th February 2018, 08:20 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

q6 reads ol with meter leads both ways

q7 reads the same
Old 10th February 2018, 08:48 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

both also show 00.5ohm across gate to drain pins 1 and 2
Old 10th February 2018, 09:11 PM   #5
diyAudio Member

The gate resistors hooked to each gate leg are they burned and or open?