Amp and woofer help for my car...

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello ppl

need info for car amp and woofer!

I am new to this subwoofer business.I have just bought a Pioneer TS-W304F subwoofer
which has a maximum power rating of 600 Watts
and Nominal input is 300W. Does this mean it has 300 watts
rms. It is rated at 4 ohmwhat does this ohm rating tell me?

I need to know what sort of amp will i require if i want to
power this sub, what should be the power rating be, should i look
for rms value on amp, and what should it be ideally and what would
be sufficient?

Other this is if i want to power my clarion speakers
apart from this, on the same amp, what should that amp's power rating be
and how many channels. what does 2 or 4 channel mean?

Thanks for any answers!

Ohms is a unit of measurement for resistance OR impedance to current flow.

A resistive load is the same resistance to current flow no matter whether it is Alternating Current (AC) or Direct Current (DC).

An inductive load is one that varies in its resistance to electrical current flow depending on what frequency the current flow is at.

Speakers are rated for their inductive load, so 4 ohms of impedance means that you must find an amplifier that has the ability to put 300 watts into a 4 ohm load.

Amplifier manufacturers boast about their amps' abilities to put "1000 watts at 1 ohm stable". This is great if you are running more speakers and can make the resistances parallel. Current going through two devices side by side will experience HALF the resistance of current going through one of the same devices by itself.

It is like pumping water through a hose. Two hoses side by side will resist water flow half as much as one hose. In fact a bundle of 10 hoses will provide 1/10th the resistance to water flow as one hose.