Amplifier repair

Hello all,

I recently picked up a blown MTX 2300x strictly for a learning project as I have taken a recent interest in amplifier design. I am still quite new to this, so please bear with me...

The original owner was hooking up a capacitor when the amp blew.

I hooked up the amp on my bench with no input, and no speakers hooked up and read 44VDC across the left channel. It would read 44VDC for 2-3 seconds, drop to 0V for about 1 second, then continue repeating the cycle.

I took the amp apart and found one shorted fet on the left channel.

I removed the 4 fets in that group (center row, top) and tested the amp again (is this a bad idea?)

Now with the fets removed on the left channel I powered up the amp to see if there was any output on the right channel. It was very weak and severly distorted, could this be due to the fact the fets on the left channel are removed?

Also, the fan does not start for some reason, before I removed the fets the fan worked, but was super noisy. I am not sure if it is activatedy by a rise in temp. or not.

I am going to remove the rest of the fets tonight and test for shorts.

Are there any other tests I can perform on the amp before I solder in some new parts? I dont want to replace them all again. Anything else I can test while I have it apart?

Thanks for any help.
An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

Argh

I've been repairing MTX amplifiers since they came out (back when PPI was building them). I HIGHLY recommend sending any 2300 or 2300x in to MTX for repair. I spent a month rebuilding one only to have it go up in smoke the second I turned it on. It's much easier to pay MTX $100 plus shipping, and its well worth it.

The fan is shot. It is temp controlled, but always spins up a bit. There is more going on with the amp than just an improper connection. It sounds as though it was severly abused electrically. :smash:

PPMTX amps