Amplifier repair - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Car Audio

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 1st March 2004, 10:26 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Send a message via MSN to Audiowarp
Default Amplifier repair

Hello all,

I recently picked up a blown MTX 2300x strictly for a learning project as I have taken a recent interest in amplifier design. I am still quite new to this, so please bear with me...

The original owner was hooking up a capacitor when the amp blew.

I hooked up the amp on my bench with no input, and no speakers hooked up and read 44VDC across the left channel. It would read 44VDC for 2-3 seconds, drop to 0V for about 1 second, then continue repeating the cycle.

I took the amp apart and found one shorted fet on the left channel.

I removed the 4 fets in that group (center row, top) and tested the amp again (is this a bad idea?)

Now with the fets removed on the left channel I powered up the amp to see if there was any output on the right channel. It was very weak and severly distorted, could this be due to the fact the fets on the left channel are removed?

Also, the fan does not start for some reason, before I removed the fets the fan worked, but was super noisy. I am not sure if it is activatedy by a rise in temp. or not.

I am going to remove the rest of the fets tonight and test for shorts.

Are there any other tests I can perform on the amp before I solder in some new parts? I dont want to replace them all again. Anything else I can test while I have it apart?

Thanks for any help.Click the image to open in full size.
Old 6th March 2004, 01:48 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Default Argh