Kicker KX1200.1 No output w/ Pics - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Car Audio

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 26th May 2014, 03:27 AM   #1
AbaZ is offline AbaZ  United States
diyAudio Member

Default Kicker KX1200.1 No output w/ Pics

Hello, I am a newb and was hoping for some help. I'll be the first person to say I am not the greatest with electronics, but I know basics. I have a old KX1200.1 (I have 3 of these amps) One day one of my amps stopped working. No output to sub. I bench tested it with same result. No protection light, (Green light comes on, and relay clicks on) I opened up the amp and looked around didnt see anything obvious. I did notice a little sub board where the RCA's come in (has the 3 little adjustment knobs on it), I took that board out and found some corrosion where the 5 pin connector meets the main board, I cleaned it up, and still no good. I took apart one of my good amps and swapped in a known good sub board. Turned it back on and the amp works perfect. So its not a issue with the main board. I suspected it was something with the RCA inputs, I ohm checked them all from top to bottom of the boards and they look ok, but after that I don't know where else to look. I also noticed that if I use the "Amp Strapping input" as a source the amp works fine.

Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMAG0186.jpg (454.2 KB, 93 views)
File Type: jpg IMAG0187.jpg (436.0 KB, 92 views)
File Type: jpg IMAG0188.jpg (398.1 KB, 90 views)
File Type: jpg IMAG0189.jpg (342.2 KB, 86 views)
Old 26th May 2014, 03:54 AM   #2
diyAudio Member

Several things to look for. The first is C123. It opens leaving little or no audio output.

The second is a burned trace leading to the shields of the RCAs very near where JA01 is printed on the board.