Enclosure help needed!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
So I am a carpenter i have all the tools and material i could ask for when looking to build a sub enclosure. Now I need someone much smarter than I to help me design it. I want to build a 5th order bandpass specific to my subs and amp. If anyone has any experience or advice on the subject it would be much appreciated. Ill have to check specific model but I have 2 Polk audio 12's that I believe are 350w rms each. I have a rockford fosgate 700bd1 amp powering them.

You said you wanted someone smarter than you to help, well here are some proffessionals and their thoughts on bandpass enclosure, the guys at JL Audio,

JL Audio header Support Tutorials Tutorial: Bandpass Enclosure Characteristics

Read through that, the bandpass enclosure is horrible for everything but sheer output plus they are extremely unforgiving if you make the slightest mistake in construction or size calculations, don't listen to the schlubbs that tell you "go bandpass" "go ported" maybe it will be loud but will sound bad. Unless you are going for competition of course, if you are interested in a high quality sound that has plenty of output just go with a manufacturer recommended ported box, or a sealed if you are willing to trade off a little SPL for a little SQ. the advantages you gain from a bandpass box can easily be achieved with more power or better subs plus you will avoid all the headache and uneven frequency response, not to mention bandpass enclosure especially the dual reflex ones mess up your subwoofers with too much power and you won't even know anything is wrong until your woofer is blown my 2 cents