Rockford Fosgate T30001bd - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Car Audio

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 4th March 2013, 06:41 PM   #1
ultra is offline ultra  Greece
diyAudio Member
 
ultra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Athens
Default Rockford Fosgate T30001bd

This amp came in for repair and as usually there was another guy who attempted a repair before me.
After removing all output fets, cleaning the board and replacing both uc3706s, i powered the amp.
It powers up ok (power led on)
All auxiliary voltages are present.
There was a nice carrier triangle
The main issue is that one bank of the floating 120V output shows 4V and the other one around 185V (referenced to the GND pin).
I read the other threads regarding this issue, but R54, R55, R56, R65, R13 and R53 are all ok.
Additionally Q8, Q11 and Q12, all test ok.
I even tried to measure the power terminals with two different multimeters, and i got the same results.
Do the output fets have to be on in order to have proper readings?
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2013, 06:51 PM   #2
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Send a message via AIM to MatthewS Send a message via MSN to MatthewS Send a message via Yahoo to MatthewS
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultra View Post
This amp came in for repair and as usually there was another guy who attempted a repair before me.
Shame the other guy didn't know about this forum. He could have come here and had someone else fix it for him the first time around. Best of luck with it
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th March 2013, 07:10 PM   #3
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Louisiana
I've never tried powering one up without the outputs in the circuit. The high-side drive is floating so it's difficult to say what you'll read on it. If you want to check the drive signals, you'll need to do so directly across the gate and source legs of the output transistors.

This will be most definitive if you use your scope in differential mode.

You can use a multimeter to see if all drive signals give the same DC voltage readings but it won't be definitive.

You can use a scope in normal mode but you'd have to ground the various FET source legs. I've never tried it in this amp but it shouldn't be a problem. If you try this, I'd suggest inserting a 1 amp fuse or a 1 ohm 1/4w resistor between the FET source leg and ground so that it can open the circuit if there is a problem. Each group of FETs would have to have one FET source grounded when checking the drive signal. You should only have one group grounded at any time.

You would not need to ground the sources for the FETs in the bank with Q430 since they're already grounded.

Again, this is assuming that there are no output transistors in the circuit and no solder bridges between any of the solder pads for the output transistors.
  Reply With Quote
Old 5th March 2013, 01:19 AM   #4
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by MatthewS View Post
Shame the other guy didn't know about this forum. He could have come here and had someone else fix it for him the first time around. Best of luck with it
LOL!!! I sense something here, not sure what yet, but damn this is fun to watch!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2013, 08:13 PM   #5
ultra is offline ultra  Greece
diyAudio Member
 
ultra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Athens
Back to work after two days in bed with the flu...
I dont really see any advantage in trying to figure out if everything is ok with this amp without the output fets on.
I am not interested in taking a different path regarding the repair of such amps neither....
So, before i put back a fresh set of output fets, i did some testing.
Both uc3706 have a nice square wave in pins 1 and 16 (toggle A and B), if that is of any significance and 10V on pin 8 and pin 3 has around 6V (the chip is enabled).
Now, after groundind each bank of fets (source pin of each bank with 1 ohm resistor to gnd) i got the following pics. I believe only two banks have a pulse
Please note i turn on the amp with the 12V supply current limited to 4A and it takes some time to charge the filter caps.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMGP4439.JPG (863.4 KB, 90 views)
File Type: jpg IMGP4441.JPG (855.1 KB, 85 views)
File Type: jpg IMGP4442.JPG (831.2 KB, 83 views)
File Type: jpg IMGP4443.JPG (865.6 KB, 79 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th March 2013, 09:12 PM   #6
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Louisiana
6 and 11 are the output pins. Do you have a square wave on those pins?

Checking the drive signals with no outputs helps find problems that would destroy the outputs if the amp was powered up while with them in the circuit.

I don't know what you mean by 'different path'. If you're referring to using the amp in differential mode, it's important because it allows you to view signals that would otherwise be difficult to see in high resolution (particularly in regards to DC levels).
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2013, 11:45 AM   #7
ultra is offline ultra  Greece
diyAudio Member
 
ultra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Athens
By "different path" i mean any other way to repair, beside yours.

No, i dont have a square wave at the inputs of 3706s.

When tracking back the circuit, i see the carrier getting in the not inv input (pin 5) of U301 and U302, but no output on pins 7 of both ics.
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2013, 11:57 AM   #8
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Louisiana
What is the DC voltage measured directly across the speaker terminals?

Post the DC voltage on all pins or U301.
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2013, 04:23 PM   #9
ultra is offline ultra  Greece
diyAudio Member
 
ultra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Athens
There is no DC on the output, my meter shows 0.01VDC

U301

1. -4.30
2. 2.10
3. 0.075
4. -5.88
5. 0.046
6. -4.20
7. 5.70
8. 6.10

U302

1. 4.40
2. 0.063
3. 0.074
4. -5.88
5. 0.038
6. 4.40
7. -4.17
8. 6.10
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th March 2013, 05:09 PM   #10
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Louisiana
What's the resistance between the 3rd leg of Q418 and both ends of R316?
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rockford fosgate t30001bd dips1982 Car Audio 17 27th December 2013 10:01 PM
Rockford T30001bd shawnk Car Audio 22 25th March 2012 01:39 PM
Rockford t30001bd-big problem please help rezzyr Car Audio 3 21st September 2011 07:28 PM
Rockford Fosgate dtisme Car Audio 1 5th October 2010 11:39 PM
Rockford Fosgate T30001BD mike49504 Car Audio 71 26th March 2010 09:22 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:05 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2