Rockford fosgate power 500bd in protect

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello everyone I just in for my own collection a rockford fosgate power 500bd. It's in protect (red light on) I checked the output fets (IRF540 & IRF9540) they all test out fine no shorts. If I can get a lil more detailed help on this one that would be cool. I've never had BD series power amp nor have I ever touched one. This is my first time.

This is PC-3066-F board.

Here's a pic

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    278 KB · Views: 120
Dont have schematic in front of me but Q15 and Q16 are regulators and yes they run hot...totally normal.

I always check the solder joints on those as well since they run so hot.

If U21 is defective the amp will remain in protect. Take one out of your parts boards and throw it in since its your own amp. You can always order new ones and put it in later??

Its a TL072C pretty common op-amp.

Dont have schematic in front of me but Q15 and Q16 are regulators and yes they run hot...totally normal.

I always check the solder joints on those as well since they run so hot.

If U21 is defective the amp will remain in protect. Take one out of your parts boards and throw it in since its your own amp. You can always order new ones and put it in later??

Its a TL072C pretty common op-amp.

Alright just thought maybe those where the culprits.

I have a couple parts boards that have those if it works then ill order new ones for extra reliability. I just have to buy some more desolder braid and see what happens.

You need to purchase chipquik. The stuff is amazing at removing various components without damaging vias or solder pads.

Perry turned me onto it. You should also think of investing a hot air
rework station. I have not yet, but I do have a heat gun used for removing.