Rockford Fosgate T20001BD wont power up - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Car Audio

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22nd January 2013, 08:28 PM   #1
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Default Rockford Fosgate T20001BD wont power up

HI I have a Rockford Fosgate T20001BD that wont power up at all it doesn't draw any current at all. I don't have a scope but I do have a DMM! Where should I start? THANKS!!
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd January 2013, 10:06 PM   #2
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Louisiana
Start by posting the DC voltage on all of the terminals of the SG3526. Copy and paste the following into your reply.


Pin 1:
Pin 2:
Pin 3:
Pin 4:
Pin 5:
Pin 6:
Pin 7:
Pin 8:
Pin 9:
Pin 10:
Pin 11:
Pin 12:
Pin 13:
Pin 14:
Pin 15:
Pin 16:
Pin 17:
Pin 18:
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2013, 12:02 AM   #3
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Default Rockford fosgate T20001BD

Heay Perry I knew you would be the first to answer Thanks!!

Pin 1: .42
Pin 2: .137
Pin 3: .045
Pin 4: .006
Pin 5: .700
Pin 6: .000
Pin 7: .000
Pin 8: .006
Pin 9: 3.58
Pin 10: 1.921
Pin 11: .001
Pin 12: .667
Pin 13: .001
Pin 14: 10.36
Pin 15: .000
Pin 16: .001
Pin 17: 13.34
Pin 18: 4.98
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2013, 12:52 AM   #4
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Louisiana
It appears that you don't have remote voltage. If you have 12v on the remote terminal, post the DC voltage on all pins of U1.
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2013, 01:09 AM   #5
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Pin 1: .005
Pin 2: .005
Pin 3: 13.94
Pin 4: 4.59
Pin 5: .258
Pin 6: .256
Pin 7: 8.67
Pin 8: .196
Pin 9: .138
Pin 10: .000
Pin 11: .056
Pin 12: .000
Pin 13: -.287
Pin 14: .001
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2013, 01:17 AM   #6
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Louisiana
Pins 5 and 6 should be connected to pin 18 of the 3526. See if you can find the break in the circuit.
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2013, 01:45 AM   #7
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Perry it looks like I have a 1R0 resistor that's broke. I don't have no 1R0's what can I put in its place to test The amp?
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2013, 01:53 AM   #8
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Louisiana
If you don't have a 1 ohm surface mount, you can use a leaded resistor.

Check C8 and C9 before replacing it. One may be shorted.
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2013, 03:18 AM   #9
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
OK I went and got a 1 ohm resistor and installed it and the amp powered up and played fine but r35 and r36 gets real hot You cant touch them and the amp was only on 2 or 3 min. what should I check now? THANKS Perry for all your help!!

Last edited by amp it up; 23rd January 2013 at 03:41 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd January 2013, 09:45 AM   #10
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Louisiana
That's normal. Those resistors are connected across the rails. They ensure that the rail caps drain quickly after the amp is switched off (some of the old BD amps would retain a dangerous charge for weeks).
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate P1000 Amp Wont Power On? stockz Car Audio 3 13th January 2013 10:23 PM
Rockford Fosgate punch p500-2 wont power on ivkata Car Audio 9 6th November 2012 04:15 AM
Rockford Fosgate T20001BD brandes.cm Car Audio 9 3rd August 2012 05:30 AM
Rockford Fosgate T20001bd Triden312 Class D 3 22nd November 2009 10:54 PM
Rockford Fosgate - T20001bd dtek Car Audio 5 23rd October 2009 01:43 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 01:22 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2