Need Help Adding Tweeters to Speakers - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Car Audio

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 19th December 2012, 03:11 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Need Help Adding Tweeters to Speakers

Hi Guys, Audio noob here but pretty good with a soldering iron..

I am actually trying to add a set of tweeters to my car, you see I own a bmw e36 318is which came with speakers on the door cards, I recently replaced the door cards because of sagging door inserts (a common issue with these cars) and the new door cards have tweeters installed with speakers.

Anyway there aren't any connectors on my car to connect these tweeters so long story short I need some help connecting them if possible.

Both the speaker and tweeter seem to be 8 ohms, so I was told to add a capacitor and a 4ohms resistor to the tweeters..I was also told this may not be safe for my cd player? I got a decent sony cd player.

I dont know, I do have some caps at home so if you could tell me how to make it work I could give it a go...

Here are some pics,

Click the image to open in full size.

the speaker

and the tweeter
Old 19th December 2012, 10:56 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Are you replacing the existing tweeters? If so, what with? Also you might try the car audio forum.
Old 19th December 2012, 11:15 PM   #3
tinitus is offline tinitus  Europe
diyAudio Moderator R.I.P.

moved to Car Audio

moderation
Old 20th December 2012, 03:08 AM   #4
diyAudio Member

No, I am actually trying to add tweeters, my car came with door speakers but not tweeters, just need help wiring them, properly, have more details in the topic. please have a look. would appreciate the help.
Old 20th December 2012, 08:36 AM   #5
diyAudio Member