Rockford Fosgate T600-2; any similar schematics? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Car Audio

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 3rd December 2012, 08:09 AM   #1
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Columbus, Ohio ^
Default Rockford Fosgate T600-2; any similar schematics?

Hello,

Anyone know if there are schematics available “similar” to the POWER T600-2 amp?

I contacted Rockford Fosgate a couple months ago, but since the amp is still in production the schematic is not available yet. The overall design looks “similar” to the T5002, but not sure if that schematic is available, maybe there are others similar I missed.

Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2012, 08:43 AM   #2
diyAudio Member
 
seankane's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Washington State
Whats wrong with the amp?
__________________
Pyramid 52 Amp Power Supply----Fluke 787 Processmeter----Tektronix 465 Scope----Velleman HPS40 Scope----Soldering Iron----Desoldering Iron----Hejet HJ 500-S Heatgun----DM4070 Digital LCR Meter----Propane Torch
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2012, 09:39 AM   #3
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Columbus, Ohio ^
Quote:
Originally Posted by seankane View Post
Whats wrong with the amp?
I got it blown, repaired it a while back & everything seemed good on the bench for a couple hours at moderate to high output, even maxing out my power supplies (45 & a 40 amp), but under full power / load in the car a channel blew & took the power supply with it. Same channel / problem as when I got the amp.

Originally I replaced the power supply FETs, gate resistors as some seemed slightly out of spec but were probably ok, output FETs replaced, tested all the gate / source resistors & they tested fine, all the drivers seemed ok “in circuit”, it played clean & the waveforms looked good & idled cool. The rail caps were bad when I got it as well, which I hadn’t planned on & cost me more then I wanted to spend on it.

The layout is a little tight & looks like these may use a multilayer board, I just wanted to look over the schematic while going through it again. I already have too much into this amp, so the next go around I don’t want it blowing again.
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2012, 10:00 AM   #4
diyAudio Member
 
seankane's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Washington State
I see, well I know Rockford wont give it up as of now because its a current model but you know that already. One of the drivers could have been leaky that drive the output fets, and there are small smd resistors that are connected to the drivers.

Slightly leaky drivers or slightly out of tolerance smd resistors might work ok on the bench but in the car under a load probably not. It sounds like you replaced everything else that was needed.

Talking to a rep at Rockford awhile back they are getting ready to release a new series real soon, then the schematic will be available. Look up my name and then look at all threads started by me and scroll to the P500-2 and Perry Babin posted a pic of a driver board with a leaky transistor that can cause problems.
__________________
Pyramid 52 Amp Power Supply----Fluke 787 Processmeter----Tektronix 465 Scope----Velleman HPS40 Scope----Soldering Iron----Desoldering Iron----Hejet HJ 500-S Heatgun----DM4070 Digital LCR Meter----Propane Torch
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2012, 10:24 AM   #5
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Columbus, Ohio ^
Interesting, I was wondering when they would be coming out with a new series, these ones have been around for a little while now. Yeah I figured they would not release it since it was a current model, but thought what the heck it couldn’t hurt to ask anyway.

Yeah, a leaky driver sounds like a good possibility. I did test all the resistors in that area, etc. prior & they seemed within tolerance, but again, that was “in circuit testing”. I thought that’s where the problem could be, but not for sure. Guess I’ll look into the drivers & resistors a bit more.

Thanks for the info.
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2012, 10:28 AM   #6
diyAudio Member
 
seankane's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Washington State
Alot of them test fine and are able to be tested in the circuit but if you get one with a way off reading you should always remove it from the circuit and test it. I have also had them test way off in the circuit and remove them to test fine. It can be time consuming without a schematic because without knowing which ones to test you find yourself testing alot of them.
__________________
Pyramid 52 Amp Power Supply----Fluke 787 Processmeter----Tektronix 465 Scope----Velleman HPS40 Scope----Soldering Iron----Desoldering Iron----Hejet HJ 500-S Heatgun----DM4070 Digital LCR Meter----Propane Torch
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2012, 11:16 AM   #7
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Columbus, Ohio ^
Yep, I know what you mean, when ever I get any what seems to be “off” readings in circuit I do pull them to test depending on what’s in the circuit that could skew the readings, but if it seems ok I generally don’t. Evidently I missed something on this one, lol. I’ve had the other problem as well though, another amp I was working on had a faulty transistor, though it tested just fine in & out of circuit, could not measure any leakage either, but was breaking down in the circuit, that can make things difficult! I definitely like to be able to go over the schematics, though I still have a lot to learn on fully understanding the individual circuits.

I did check that thread you mention on the P500-2, this amp does appear to use the exact same card.
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2012, 12:46 PM   #8
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Food for thought: If you fixed this amp and it went back into the same car driving the same speakers and failed the same way, I would also check the car/wiring/subs. I've found these to be the culprit on more than one occasion.
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd December 2012, 01:03 PM   #9
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Columbus, Ohio ^
Quote:
Originally Posted by blazer40 View Post
Food for thought: If you fixed this amp and it went back into the same car driving the same speakers and failed the same way, I would also check the car/wiring/subs. I've found these to be the culprit on more than one occasion.
I bought this amp blown actually. I did the testing in my car and the wiring is fine & the subs were correctly wired to the amp at the minimum impedance as noted in the manual & on there website. Immediately after this blew up I installed a couple other amps as I was testing stuff that day anyway with no issues at similar to higher power levels then this amp. Just unhooked the wires from this amp & connected the others.

But you are definitely correct and the installation & all wiring etc. should be checked over before a repaired amp gets installed back into what may have blown it in the first place.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
schematics for rockford fosgate punch 100aII Hatefist180 Car Audio 23 26th May 2013 11:59 PM
Rockford-fosgate review sarathefletch Car Audio 0 8th May 2012 07:09 PM
Rockford fosgate 4.6 X mike49504 Car Audio 14 28th May 2011 03:35 PM
Rockford Fosgate dtisme Car Audio 1 5th October 2010 11:39 PM
rockford fosgate 800a2 mike49504 Car Audio 11 4th February 2010 08:34 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:57 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2