ST1000D class D amplifier fried my subs!

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
OK, so I purchased a used Memphis Audio Amp, ST1000D class D amplifier and upon connecting it to my two Memphis subwoofers, the green power light came on and everything seemed to be in working order. I hadn't even switched the subs on, through my head unit, when I started smelling he voice coils burning! I quickly disconnected the speakers and rechecked my wiring.

I am not a newbie as far as car audio installation so I checked and double checked, with my multimeter, that the subs were wired to have a final impedance of 4ohms at the amplifier.

The subs are 2 X 12" DVC 4ohm Memphis audio subs with a rating of 500 RMS each! This amp should have been perfect, in fact, I could have lowered the final impedence through the sub wiring but I know that this particular amp is a mono block amp with two sets of speaker connections, internal wiring drops the impedence to 2ohms.

So after double checking my wiring I tried again, this time the subs were fully extended and held in an upward position and the voice coils on both subs were fried completely!!! Anyway, what is the problem with this amp?

Can anyone suggest what to check first? I checked for any obvious burnt transistors or resistors but none of them seemed to be toast! I also used my multimeter to check the power FETS and the output transistors and they all read normal! I'm a little new at this amp repair thing so can anyone give me some advice a to what I should check next? It obviously is pushing out WAAAAY TOO MUCH DC CURRENT!