electrical question

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
hi all, i thought this would be a good place to find the answer to my question.

I tinker with electrics a bit, normally car related stuff, audio and other bits. im no expert. theres a question thats been bugging me.

I have a set of spotlights. if I put bulbs in than are higher than 55 watts, will those bulbs then demand the extra power from the battery?

I guess my question is what is the relationship between the load and the power source?

I had radiator fan (15ah draw )hooked up to a small 7ah battery, it ran but obviously not at full whack. does the load just deal with what its given... its a hard one to phrase...

will me putting higher watt bulbs in my spotlights increase theyre brightness? obviously ill use chunkier wiring.

cheers for reading my ramblings,

ned .

Hi,

100W bulbs draw twice as much current as 50W bulbs for the same
supply voltage rating. A 100W 12V bulb will be a 50W bulb if its run
on 6V instead of 12V. a 10W 12V bulb will draw 1/10 the current,
about an amp (0.83) whilst 100W about 8 amps.

A 100W bulb that isn't brighter than a 50W bulb is pretty poor, however a
10W halide bulb is equivalent to a 30W to 50W normal bulb in brightness.

rgds, sreten.

P=VxI, P=I(squared)xR, P=V(squared)/R, R=V/I.

Last edited:
Ah is capacity. Think of it as a bucket of water. A battery with a higher amp-hour rating is like a larger bucket.

The fan has an amp rating, not an amp-hour rating. The amperage that the fan draws doesn't depend on the battery's ah rating. A fan with a higher amp rating means that the fan draws water from the bucket faster than one with a lower amp rating.