Diamond D7104 problems. - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Car Audio

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 20th August 2012, 05:44 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Diamond D7104 problems.

So Im looking into buying a broken Diamond D7104. I am no electronics engineer.. but I know a guy whose got a ton of experience in the field and is OK with taking a look at it.

I have found 2 of these.

1- Is missing an inductor (what my buddy called it) inside the unit, and is missing 2 of the 6 caps inside of it. It powers on just fine, but only 1 of the 4 channels is working.

2- Hasnt been touched as far as I can tell, but from what little info I have on it when powered on the red power light flickers on and off.. and obviously no sound.

Any ideas as to what could be wrong with either? Especially the first one.
Old 20th August 2012, 06:48 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

1: These amps had problems with the inductor shorting out. It may have been pulled by someone prior to your ownership. Its a very common issue with Diamond/Esoteric amps of this series. A suitable replacement will have to be hand made most likely for the amp to be original and as intended....
Old 20th August 2012, 08:41 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

2: the second amp could have lots of possible reasons for not powering on. The red led flickering on and off sounds like the internal protection circuitry shutting the amp down after it detects issues inside the amp. but this is just a guess without any internal pics of the amp to view, and or hands on diagnosis of its symptoms...
Old 20th August 2012, 09:37 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1moreamp View Post