Kicker ZX300.1 going into Protect mode, I need help

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
First, I am new to repairs. I have Perry's repair tutorial that I am working my way through, but because of all the info that it has, it is somewhat overwhelming.

On to the problem/question: :(

I have a Kicker ZX300.1 monoblock that flashes Green to Red.
The circuit board has a date of 14-04-2006 and is a Rev 1.2

I have remove the output transistors from the board and checked them and they appear fine to me. They read as the tutorial says that they should. There are (3) C5242A and (3) C1962A. They are connected to a large ceramic resistor each, which has 5W0.2ohmJ printed on the sides. I measeured them with the transistors out of the board and they appear to be within tolerance. :confused:

Here are the voltages on the TL494 IC
1) fluctuates from 1.07 - 1.22
2) 3.3 :)
3) 0 and then up to 5 when the red protect light flashes :eek:
4) 0
5) 1.5
6) 3.42 :)
7) 0 :)
8) & 11) 4.5 then fades to 0 when the red protect light flashes :eek:
9) & 10) 1.67 then fades to 0 when the red protect light flashes :eek:
12) 12 :)
13) - 15) 5 :)
16) 3 then climbs to 9 when the red protect light flashes

:scratch:

Nothing appears to be burnt on the board

I do not have a scope and know that I need to invest in a better meter. With that being said,
Any help and direction is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
:cool:

As much as I know that you do not like them, these were taken with a cell phone. It is the only thing I have at my disposal until much later.

Thanks,

IMAG0591.jpg

IMAG0592.jpg

IMAG0593.jpg

IMAG0594.jpg

There is also a small circuit board that is not pictured that sits elevated on the end with the RCA's. I think it is the crossover section because it has the swithech for that on it (and the bass know input).

No,