Arduino Car Stereo - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Car Audio

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 29th July 2012, 06:18 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Arduino Car Stereo

I'm new to electronics (coming from a Software background) and have started playing with an Arduino to control an Si4703 FM Receiver.

My goal is to eventually create a car stereo with an Aux-in feature (from an iPhone). Here's what I'm planning:
  1. Switch between the radio and Aux-in using a 5V 2A DPDT Relay (EC2-5NA)
  2. Control the volume using a Dual Audio Digital Pot (DS1807)
  3. The output would then go to an Amplifier.
Is there any reason this wouldn't work? Could I do it better another way?

Thanks,
Andrew

[EDIT]
All the code and libraries for my Arduino project, can now be found at:
http://www.retrojdm.com/ArduinoCarStereo.asp
[/EDIT]

Last edited by andrewzuku; 27th October 2013 at 12:53 PM. Reason: Added links to Code
Old 29th July 2012, 12:25 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

I don't know enough about the FM receiver to offer any advice but if you plan on using the iphone on a charger that connects to the vehicle's electrical system, you may run into problems with engine noise due to ground loops. The can be solved by using a balanced input for the iphone or using a ground loop isolator.
Old 29th July 2012, 08:55 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Thanks for the suggestion. I'll look into it and do a little testing using in the car

The radio I'm using is a breakout board from sparkfun.
https://www.sparkfun.com/products/10663?
Old 29th July 2012, 10:32 PM   #4
kevinkr is offline kevinkr  United States
diyAudio Moderator

I'd think the arduino would be a very good way of tying this all together and controlling the various chips. Does the volume control IC also provide bass, treble and balance controls as a minimum?