Kicker 650.4 in protect

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
The problem is with a Kicker ZX 650.4
Hello everyone my name is Mark and I'm a new member here . This will auctually be my first post I was hoping to get acquinted before needing help. But my amp had other ideas. I've spent alot of time reading the info. Mr. Babbin has online and alot of threads on this site. So checking transistors I found a shorted one at (Q312) the rest I thought were OK I removed (Q312) from the board andtried powering up again but it is still in protect. Next I probed the TL494 IC at location U2 and here are the voltages I got.
1; 1.2
2; 3.4
3; 4.7
4; 0
5; 1.5
6; 3.4 then faded to 0
Pins 7 thru 11 were all 0
12; 17.5
13; 5
14; 5
15; 5
16; 0
This is my first attempt at repairing electronic equipment, I've been pretty good over the years at breaking the stuff but I was working then and could afford to get it fixed been out of work for awhile now so I'm hoping I can tackle this with lots of help from you folks. Thanks in advance. Mark L.

ZX650.4 continued

Well I double checked pin 12 on the Tl494 IC it was 17 volts. The way Perry questioned my reading I tried to figure out whats going on . I have it hooked to a battery and a charger, Iturned the charger down 1 notch and the voltage on pin 12came down to 14 and the amp came out of protect.The transistor at ( Q312) is still removed.what other transistors would I need to change also . Would that be my next step. Thank You Mark L

I don't have anything on the ZX, is it the same as the KX (attached)?

Attachments

• IMG_8413x.jpg
    IMG_8413x.jpg
    147 KB · Views: 132
Question on parts needed