memphis mch1300 repair help. - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Car Audio

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 16th March 2012, 11:08 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default memphis mch1300 repair help.

Ok, here is the story..

I have been running this amp for a couple months now with no issues. yesterday I noticed that my tweeters were sounding funny, so i checked them and they read lower than 1 ohm, 3 of the 4 on each front channel were blown. I replaced them, as well as relocated the amp in my truck. turned on the radio, and it shortly cut out. 1 of the new tweeters sounded like crap, so i checked it at the amp, it read .2 ohms, there was a short, I fixed that, and turned the radio on again, same thing, it cut out. so this time i checked all of the speakers, and found another shorted speaker wire, this time on a rear channel. So I fixed that short, checked everything again to make sure everything was ok, turned it on once again. It played for a few seconds, then cut out again.
Now the amp stays in protect mode. It trys to power up, I hear it click, and notice a power draw when it does, but it does not power up, just stays in protect and keeps clicking, and got pretty hot to the touch.

I pulled the cover off of the amp to check for any obvious signs of a prooblem, and have found none. nothing appears burned, or smells funny.

Im confident I can fix this amp myself with a little guidance, which is why I am here.

Im thinking output transistors would be a good place to start, as that seems to be what was getting hot, plus a bit of research last night about amp repair, lead me to believe they are usually a pretty common problem.

Could somebody point me in the right direction ? Thanks in advance.
Old 16th March 2012, 12:08 PM   #2
diyAudio Member