Rockford Fosgate T5002 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Car Audio

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 31st January 2012, 04:51 PM   #1
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Default Rockford Fosgate T5002

I got another one of theese in for repair..

The problem with the amp is it will keep cutting out and going into protection mode ...

If you have the crossover on full range or high pass and listen to midrange speakers the amp is fine..

If you connect a subwoofer to the amp and set the crossover to low pass the amp will go in and out of protection mode..


Hooked this amp up in several different cars and several different subs also amp will go in and out of protection mode when the low pass crossover is on and a sub is connected...


Any ideas??
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2012, 06:00 PM   #2
diyAudio Member
 
seankane's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Washington State
Sometimes these switches can short. With the switch in low pass is there any DC on the metal case of the switch itself?

Have you tried connecting a sub woofer to the amp in high pass and full range just to see what it does?
__________________
Pyramid 52 Amp Power Supply----Fluke 787 Processmeter----Tektronix 465 Scope----Velleman HPS40 Scope----Soldering Iron----Desoldering Iron----Hejet HJ 500-S Heatgun----DM4070 Digital LCR Meter----Propane Torch
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2012, 06:53 PM   #3
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Louisiana
What was the original problem?

What did you do to the amp to this point?
  Reply With Quote
Old 31st January 2012, 10:11 PM   #4
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
This amp ive done nothing at all to it... Just got it in for repair..


The guy told me that it has always had the same problem with going in and out of protection mode when a sub is connected and he thought that maybe it was something in his car so he hooked the amp up in 3 different cars and hooked differnt subs up to it and has had the same problem with the amp ..


So he brought it to me to see if i could figure it out...

I can get the amp to do the same thing on the bench..

Last edited by mike49504; 31st January 2012 at 10:22 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2012, 01:31 AM   #5
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Louisiana
It has two channels. If you have the speaker connected to only one channel at a time. does either or both cause the amp to go into protect?
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2012, 02:30 AM   #6
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Both channels cause it to go in and out of protection
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2012, 03:33 AM   #7
EBBCO is offline EBBCO  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: California
Send a message via Yahoo to EBBCO
These amps have an issue with the switches in them, also check the RCA shell's on amp. Go from shell to the I.c chip, follow each trace, there not common. One comes undone it will cause lp mode to phase out 180 and protect.
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2012, 11:53 AM   #8
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Louisiana
Post the DC voltage on all pins of U3 before it goes into protect. Add the voltages for the pins that change after it goes into protect.

U3
Pin 1:
Pin 2:
Pin 3:
Pin 4:
Pin 5:
Pin 6:
Pin 7:
Pin 8:
Pin 9:
Pin 10:
Pin 11:
Pin 12:
Pin 13:
Pin 14:
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2012, 12:15 PM   #9
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
U3
Pin 1: 9.38
Pin 2: 14.31
Pin 3: 14.76
Pin 4: 0.22
Pin 5: 1.18
Pin 6: 0.01
Pin 7: 4.98
Pin 8: 0.58
Pin 9: 9.77
Pin 10: 0.11
Pin 11: 1.00
Pin 12: 0
Pin 13: 0.46
Pin 14: 4.97


Voltages when it protects

U3
Pin 1: 0.04
Pin 2: 13.94
Pin 3: 14.36
Pin 4: 0.54
Pin 5: 1.16
Pin 6: 7.00
Pin 7: 4.98
Pin 8: 0.59
Pin 9: 5.98
Pin 10: 0.30
Pin 11: 0.99
Pin 12: 0
Pin 13: 0.46
Pin 14: 4.97
  Reply With Quote
Old 1st February 2012, 01:14 PM   #10
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Louisiana
Remove R58 from the circuit. This will disable the shutdown circuit so you must be careful (15 amp fuse, transistors tightly clamped to the heatsink). I'm assuming that the amp will go into protect mode relatively easily and would not blow the 15 amp fuse.

Does the amp work as it should with the protection circuit disabled?
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rockford Fosgate T5002 mike49504 Car Audio 8 29th January 2012 07:08 AM
Rockford Fosgate T5002 mike49504 Car Audio 3 14th June 2011 03:55 AM
Rockford T5002 Outputs sub Dr Zeus Car Audio 8 10th February 2011 08:22 PM
rockford t5002 Bobdabuilder Car Audio 4 13th April 2010 04:02 PM
Rockford T5002 Bobdabuilder Car Audio 0 7th April 2010 11:48 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:12 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2