Help with PPI PC1400

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hey, new guy here looking for a little help with a PPI PC1400.

I'm new to electronics, but I want to fix my PPI PC1400.

I want to start out by replacing the visually damaged and missing parts.

From what I can SEE, this is what I'm dealing with. All damage is on the POWER side.

Blown:

9 IRFZ44 FETs (Non matching. Indicative of previous repair?)
9 resistors ( R7 R8 R9 R10 R11 R12 R36 R78 R167)
2 transistors ( Q25 Q53 )
2 capacitors ( C27 C125 )

Missing:

2 resistors (R35 R185 )
1 transistor ( Q26 )

I've been doing alot of research into fixing it, but I need a little bit of direction from experienced people.

If anybody could help, it would be most appreciated.

Thanks

Power supplies rarely burn themselves out without there being serious issues on the audio side. By serious I mean blown outputs, blown regulators for the lower rails, bad caps, blown rectifiers, etc... The list can be endless and only teching it out with a ohm meter will get you the unknowns that may be lurking further into the repair.

Since you are new, may I suggest you look at any of Perry Babin's posts and click on his links below his posts. His links will take you to his training web-sight and there you can learn at your own pace many of the facets of the repair world. I can not stress enough how valuable his web-site will be to you in your efforts.

With his info in mind and on access to you the other details will come much easier, especially when any of us here start answering your questions that you post.