PPI A600 gate resistor value - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Car Audio

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 4th November 2011, 07:40 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default PPI A600 gate resistor value

I'm replacing all 8 FET's in the power supply section of an A600. I'm pretty new to this but came across some threads about upgrading them to stronger parts. IRFZ48V's seem to be the strongest parts I could find so that's what I ordered. Additional reading revealed information about different gate resistor values for different FET's.

Can anyone tell me what values to use for the gate resistors when using IRFZ48V transistors?
Old 4th November 2011, 08:32 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

The Z48s should be OK with anything between 47 and 75 ohms. If you have to order or buy the resistors, I'd suggest 68 ohms unless a lower value is already installed.
Old 7th November 2011, 12:21 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

I just measured the existing ones and they are 47's, so I'll leave 'em. I bought the amp "non-working" and found 3 z44n's that looked about like they'd exploded since there were parts of the actual silicon missing revealing whatever the core is made of. All the caps, the board, and all else looks great. I'm crossing my fingers this will come alive once I get the z48v's in.
Old 7th November 2011, 05:21 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

The outside of the transistor is some sort of epoxy/resin/plastic. The parts inside that look like broken glass is the silicon that makes up the transistor. The tiny rectangle in the center of the metal tab in the following image is the transistor (not intact due to the case being forced open).
http://www.bcae1.com/repairbasicsfor...R_IRFZ44Nb.jpg