PPI A600 gate resistor value

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm replacing all 8 FET's in the power supply section of an A600. I'm pretty new to this but came across some threads about upgrading them to stronger parts. IRFZ48V's seem to be the strongest parts I could find so that's what I ordered. Additional reading revealed information about different gate resistor values for different FET's.

Can anyone tell me what values to use for the gate resistors when using IRFZ48V transistors?

I just measured the existing ones and they are 47's, so I'll leave 'em. I bought the amp "non-working" and found 3 z44n's that looked about like they'd exploded since there were parts of the actual silicon missing revealing whatever the core is made of. All the caps, the board, and all else looks great. I'm crossing my fingers this will come alive once I get the z48v's in.

The outside of the transistor is some sort of epoxy/resin/plastic. The parts inside that look like broken glass is the silicon that makes up the transistor. The tiny rectangle in the center of the metal tab in the following image is the transistor (not intact due to the case being forced open).
http://www.bcae1.com/repairbasicsforbcae1/images/transistordies/IMG_5518_IR_IRFZ44Nb.jpg

This one shows what a silicon die looks like when intact. This is only one example. The various manufacturers use different designs, generally trying to minimize the amount of silicon to meet the specifications of a device.
http://www.bcae1.com/repairbasicsforbcae1/images/transistordies/IMG_5494_Hitachi_2SK135b.jpg

Well, I soldered in the z48's and went to test it. It popped the 50 amp fuse in my 8ga cable as soon as I plugged in just the power connector. I took the cover off to check for damage and the FET's all visually look fine but 7 of the 8 are showing shorts between all 3 legs and also between the legs and the metal tab on the bottom.