Need help identifying resistors on Soundstream Reference 500

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Total newb when it comes to trying to repair an amp but this thing has been sitting around for a few years anyway so figured I'd give it a shot.

I checked out the mini tutorial on BCAE and tried to figure out the values of these burnt resistors but I'm not familiar with them enough to know what's red,orange, brown etc. Looks like bands 2,3,4 are Yellow, Black & Gold but the first and last don't seem obvious to me.

There are 4 burnt in total but they all appear to be the same. I've got a close up of one next to what looks like two good ones to get help on what the colors really are. I like to tinker so I'd like to think I have the ability to pull this off with a little bit of guidance. Not sure if something else caused these to fry but figured I'd start with them first and go from there.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

An externally hosted image should be here but it was not working when we last tested it.

if you have a multimeter you can measure the good resistors. From past experience, if u replace the resistors they will just burn again unless u figure out what else is wrong with the amplifier

very true for the smaller resistors but the larger ones like 2 and 3mm ones can get very hot and eventually just fail especially as the solder dries out/evaporates!

but generally, yes there is trouble upstream somewhere :(

In the Ref 500 schematic resistors R113 through R118 are the 3.3 ohm gate resistors for the power supply FETs. With those resistors being burnt, I'd check the power supply FETs. I'd also check Q107 through Q110 (FET driver trasistors) and make sure they survived.

Attachments

• Ref500.JPG
    Ref500.JPG
    97.1 KB · Views: 191
Last edited: