Rockford T3002 Shorted Channel

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello Everyone!

New to the forum, so a little background information. I've have a few amplifiers lying around for a few years, one of which (the T3002) I would really like to not only use, but fix for experience. I have two Xtant amplifiers and an Alpine MDR to fix as well, but those were given to me, I'd like to start with my own. So this thread is dedicated to fixing the T3002.

First, the symptoms. Wired it all up in the second vehicle it's been in, and had previously worked fine. As soon as the remote lead came on, the smoke came out of one of the two amps, and my component set was done for as well. I looked over the install time and time again and could find no external source to blame. I have a diploma in Electronics Technology, and I have 7 years of mostly part-time but some full-time professional installation experience.

I have the schematics. The right channel negative has ~-39V on it. There is another thread that hinted this was a common problem, but that thread didn't seem to be going anywhere, thus the new thread.

Q218 and/or Q222, both 28N15's, appear to be either shorted, or forced into saturation. Bear with me on this, because I went into software development haha, so I'll be re-learning as we go.

Is anybody familiar with this problem, with the next troubleshooting steps?

Yup, the short is now gone... which would indicate that the Q222 side was the problem...

Next step, replace? Or must we verify that the gate voltage was not the issue with this circuit...

PS, Perry, your posts and your website is awesome and I was hoping for some help from you! I intend on buying your DVD at some point to show my support and maybe fix more than just these first four amplifiers!