Rockford T5002 Outputs sub - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > General Interest > Car Audio

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 2nd February 2011, 04:52 AM   #1
Dr Zeus is offline Dr Zeus  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Dr Zeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default Rockford T5002 Outputs sub

Ive got this amp here with one of two channels blown. I clipped all FETs which all shorted i nthe bad channel, and the amp powered up and plays out of the good channel.

The output transistors are FQA36P15 and FQA46N15. I tried a few places and it looks like theres a few mis-matched parts available from different resellers. Arrow has the Fairchild FQA46N15 which is fine (and good price). They are out of stock on the FQA36P15 and no place seems to be selling the FQA36P15. Digikey comes close with an IXYS brand, IXTQ36P15P but they are pretty expensive and IXYS does not seem to have their branded counter-part.

Is there some other, better fet or retailer I can get replacement or substitute fets for this and other style, newer RF amps?

Last edited by Dr Zeus; 2nd February 2011 at 05:06 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2011, 04:59 AM   #2
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Louisiana
FAIRCHILD FQA36P15 is in stock|BuyFQA36P15|FQA36P15|Onlinecomponents.com
  Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2011, 05:00 AM   #3
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Lower Mainland
Newark looks like they have "FQA36P15" in stock. 49 pieces. They are a good distributor, I've used them lots. Avnet express has the "FQA46N15", also good distributor.

Also check out "http://www.findchips.com/". It's a great resource for finding parts.
  Reply With Quote
Old 2nd February 2011, 05:06 AM   #4
Dr Zeus is offline Dr Zeus  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Dr Zeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
There you go! Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2011, 07:04 PM   #5
Dr Zeus is offline Dr Zeus  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Dr Zeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
I got the right outputs and installed, "FQA36P15" and "FQA46N15" into Q1024, Q1025, Q1026, and Q1027. now when the amp powers up, it draws my power supply down to protection and the cycles power about every 2 seconds. Previously, I had clipped 3 out of these 4 outputs, and the one which survived was playing 1/2 the waveform on the scope.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2011, 07:05 PM   #6
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Louisiana
Bias?

Gate resistors?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2011, 07:53 PM   #7
Dr Zeus is offline Dr Zeus  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Dr Zeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
OK I did find R1065 which is a 0.10 ohm resistor totally open. I replaced all four in the amp but it still experiences the problem.

I turned the bias pot fully counter clockwise and the problem still happens. While the amp is power cycling, the voltage accross the source resistors is ~0.040 in the bad channel. Too high. 0.001 in the good channel.
  Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2011, 08:19 PM   #8
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Louisiana
Is the voltage across each of the source resistors virtually the same or do you have 1 or more that have significantly higher or lower voltage across them?

Are the 3 legged jumpers properly soldered to the MEHSA insulator?

Is the bias transistor intact/in place?
  Reply With Quote
Old 10th February 2011, 09:22 PM   #9
Dr Zeus is offline Dr Zeus  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Dr Zeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Quote:
Are the 3 legged jumpers properly soldered to the MEHSA insulator?
I think between the open source resistor and the 3 legged jumper, I think that was it.

Testing amp thouroughly now.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NOISE on audio system (Rockford 500a2, Sony xec1000, rockford PA2) stoke Car Audio 6 1st October 2010 11:21 PM
Where to by outputs mike49504 Car Audio 2 7th June 2010 06:17 AM
rockford t5002 Bobdabuilder Car Audio 4 13th April 2010 05:02 PM
Rockford T5002 Bobdabuilder Car Audio 0 8th April 2010 12:48 AM
Balanced outputs used as inverting & Non-inverting preamplier outputs gni Solid State 4 19th September 2008 04:25 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:48 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2