diyAudio

diyAudio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/)
-   Car Audio (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/car-audio/)
-   -   Custom Enclosure for 03 WRX (http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/car-audio/17479-custom-enclosure-03-wrx.html)

mc91183 8th July 2003 11:41 PM

Custom Enclosure for 03 WRX

I'm gonna make a fiberglass enclosure w/in the spare wheel well for my 03 WRX. Wondered if any of you guys had any tips for me, this is my first time dealing with fiberglass so anything would be appreciated. Basically, where I need the most help is ensuring I take the proper measurements so that my hours of work won't be in vain b/c of me not builidng the enclosure to proper specs. Here is what i'll be running in the trunk:

(1) 12" JL Audio W6v2 (needs 1.25 cuft)
(1) 500W amp

Any help would be appreciated!!!

mc91183 9th July 2003 09:11 PM

Enclosure

Might go w/ building the enclosure outta MDF and fiberglass the top layer to make it look nice on top. Also, instead of puttin the single JL, i'm gonna put my 2 Kenwood 12" Blue Tornadoes (don't know model name) in.

asauer 19th July 2003 04:03 AM

If this is your first project, I advise you to go to www.termpro.com and become a member. Then, do some searches on fiberglass resin and how to use it, clean up, etc etc. It helped me ALOT. Right now I am working on building kickpanel pods to house either 6.5's or: :cool: 8's.

Rarkov 19th July 2003 08:44 AM

Here is the method I know...

1) Clean your well and cover ALL of it with about 3-4 layers of masking tape.

2) Use about 3 layers of fibre glass and go over the top edge of the well.

3) Trim down the top edge to desired height.

4) Take out after drying period

5) Use a piece of felt / old fleece and cover the top with it. Pull it tight and fasten it around the edges.

6) Make an MDF ring to hold your speaker and make stand-offs to the bottom of your new enclosure. Doesn't need to be too strong.