Another fried Kicker KX1200.1

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Background - I have basic replacement experience, but very limited troubleshooting knowledge. I've replaced caps, convergence chips, repaired game consoles and have a collection of soldering irons in varying wattage to work on boards.

I've read Perry Babin's multiple answers to kx1200 threads and have a few questions regarding some smoked power supply FETs on this (red board) amp.

1) The amp appeared sealed and original, but the power FETs are 3205's with 100 ohm gate resistors (were they ever built with this combination?). Is it possible to run 3205's with this resistor or do they need to be changed to 47 ohm resistors? The resistors all read within tolerance.

2) If the resistors need to be changed, what is a good part number from Digikey? I tried crossing part number 660-RK73B2BTTDD470J that Perry Babin suggested, but came up blank. Using their search engine I found so many options that I got lost.

3) How can I check the gate drive transistors? They don't cost much to replace but I question my ability to not jack up the tighter/smaller soldering in that area.

Thanks! :)

The 3205's with the 100 ohm gate resistors are normal for this amp.

Okay, I wondered. The other posts about this amp suggested 'upgrading' the FETs to 3205's but needed the gate resistors to be changed out to 47 ohm. I assumed this meant someone had attempted a repair and botched the job.

On that note, do you believe the (within tolerance) resistors lead to a high probability of the gate drive transistors being okay, or would their condition be unrelated. I'll probably try to replace the transistors anyway, just trying to bump my chances of a successful repair.

THANKS!!! (for helping a newbie hack) :)

The 100 ohm fate resistors are orginal . If they all test fine dont replace them.